Headboard Slipcover


Hey, everyone. Here’s my first craft to share with you. A headboard slipcover.

My inspiration came from my brother, Dave. We’re moving into a new apartment, and he needed a bed. So being the awesome big sister I am, I gave him my full-sized bed from college. Unfortunately, the headboard was too girly. Mom and I discussed it, and she suggested I make a cover for it with a cool guitar or something. . .

I couldn’t stop thinking about it. So I told Dave to pick out a picture of a guitar he loves, and I got to work. I knew I wanted the background to be black. He picked out a picture of a black and white 1979 Fender Telecaster. Maybe a quilted fabric. For the black parts of the guitar, I’ll use a dark grey batik. The white parts will be white (I already have white fabric). And for the light grey parts, a light grey batik. Hmm, what about the tuners? Silver buttons! And the strings? Silver ribbon cord. But how in the world am I going to get all this to stay on the background?

So I went to the local fabric store. What up, Hobby Lobby! The lady there was super helpful, and I found this stuff called Wonder Under. More about that later.

Fabric: Black quilting 1.5 yd, dark grey batik .3 yd, light grey batik .3 yd, white cotton .3 yd
Accessories: 6 silver buttons, 1 spool of silver cord, 1.5 yd Wonder Under

First, I laid the headboard down on the floor and made sure I had enough in the front to reach the mattress, and enough in the back to keep it up. FYI: this headboard slipcover is not attached to the headboard in any way. Then, I flipped it inside out (right side to right side) and pinned all the way around the headboard on the wrong side. Sew along these lines, make sure it fits, and trim the excess. I like to use pinking shears to trim thick excess fabric like this. Easy peasy.

Next, look at the picture of whatever you’re trying to make on the front. This is where your artist needs to shine. 🙂 Take out your Wonder Under, and draw on the SMOOTH waxy side with pencil (marker leaves residue on your iron). I drew the piece for the white background of the guitar, then the dark grey part, the neck, the knobs, the cap, and little rectangles for whatever those things are. Keep in mind that everything you draw is going to be a MIRROR IMAGE when sewn on your project.

Heat up your iron. Press the fabric so there are no lines or wrinkles. Now, put the bumpy side of the Wonder Under to the WRONG side of your fabric, and press for about 10 seconds. Do this for all your pieces, colors, etc. Next you can cut out your pieces. Use straight shears and be very precise- no stray threads or scissor marks. The next step is to lay out your pieces and make sure everything looks right. Good? Ok. Last step: pull the waxy paper off the pieces, making sure the netted glue part stays attached to your fabric. If it doesn’t, heat it up with your iron and try again. Careful not to pull any threads loose. Press the pieces to your headboard cover for about 10 seconds.

Extras: Attach any buttons, ribbon, sparkles, whatever to make your project POP! You can also do a straight or zig-zag stitch around the edges of your fabric pieces to help everything stay on better and give it a cleaner look. Another fun idea would be to sew about half an inch in from the edges of your fabric appliques, and to fray the edges.

The whole project, including fabric shopping and idea-getting took me about five hours. The fabric and accessories cost $38. And Dave loves it. Success.

Leave a Reply

